20 September, 2019
You are here: Home » Newsletter » Dissolution of XV Parliament
Dissolution of XV Parliament

Dissolution of XV Parliament

The XVth Parliament of Samoa was dissolved on Friday 29th January 2016 in a ceremony held at the Parliament Chambers, Tuanaimato.

Following a week of Parliament Sittings, Members of Parliament gathered for the last time at Parliament Chambers for the dissolution service to end business of another parliamentary term. Reverend Panapa Fata To’o of EFKS Sasina, whom also officiated the State Opening of the XVth Parliament in March 2011, led the gathering with a sermon while hymns were sung by the renowned Olatoefuataina choir.

The service was attended by the Le Ao o le Malo and Masiofo, the Member of the Council of Deputies and Masiofo, Members of Parliament, Judiciary, Members of the Diplomatic Corp, Heads of Government and Ministries and the general public.

The Head of State in his Address reflected on the challenges and achievements of the last 5 years. He emphasized on the significance of our human rights and its relation to everyday life and dreams. He also acknowledged the never ending work of the Government and Civil Society on projects to promote positive awareness, rights, universal principles and good governance.

The Speaker of the House, Susuga Hon. Laauli Leuatea Polataivao Fosi Schmidt expressed his appreciation to all who attended the ceremony. He also acknowledged the support from the Deputy Speaker, Tofā Agafili Patisela Eteuati Tolovaa and the Office of the Clerk and Legislative Assembly.
The ceremony concluded with light refreshments served.

General Elections was held on 4th March 2016 and the State Opening of the XVIth Parliament will commence on 18th March 2016.

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top