20 September, 2019
You are here: Home » Newsletter » Tasmanian Delegation Visit
Tasmanian Delegation Visit

Tasmanian Delegation Visit

Members of the Tasmanian Parliament visited the Parliament of Samoa from 3-6 August. Headed by Michelle O’Byrne MP, the delegation consisted of 2 other members, Hon Tania Rattray MLC, Hon Rob Valentine MLC, and accompanied by Mrs Sue McLeod, Deputy Clerk of the Legislative Council.

The visit is the result of an invitation from the Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Laauli Leuatea Polataivao Fosi Schmidt, extended towards the Tasmanian Parliament for an official visit to the Samoan Parliament. Mr Speaker hosted a Cocktail Function to welcome the Tasmania Delegation.

The visit commenced in a Workshop for parliamentarians on 5th August 2015, at the Maota Tofilau Eti Alesana. The workshop discussions focused on the Twinning Partnership between the Parliament of Samoa and the Parliament of Tasmania.

This partnership was further recognized in the Delegation’s visit to the National University of Samoa on 6th August 2015, for presentation of the scholarship award. The President of the Tasmanian CPA Branch, Hon. Michelle O’Byrne presented the scholarship award to Ms Lucia Senio Chung Kwan, a student of the Samoan and Development Studies course at the NUS. This award is the first of its kind from the Parliament of Tasmania. The Delegation returned to Australia on the same day.

Visitations between the two Parliaments are frequent. The twinning arrangement was initiated in 2007 under the auspices of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and Australian and Pacific Regional bodies to facilitate better understanding between Pacific Parliaments and state and territory Parliaments of Australia.

3-6 August 2015

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top