Parliamentary Law Practice & Procedure (PLPP) Graduation Ceremony

Sixteen staff members of the Office of the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly (OCLA) graduated from the University of Tasmania in the Parliamentary Law, Practice & Procedure (PLPP) Course. Five staff members graduated with Post Graduate Certificates, 10 graduated with Undergraduate Certificates and one staff member was awarded a Participation Certificate.

The graduation was the culmination of six months of studies undertaken by OCLA staff whilst at the same time ensuring work commitments were achieved as well. An undertaking that was by no means an easy task as attested to by Mrs. Olive Eneliko in her vote of thanks speech given on behalf of the graduating class.

The PLPP course began back in 2013 when the OCLA requested the UTAS to undertake professional development and capacity building programmes for Members and staff of the Samoa Parliament and todays graduation is another milestone in this longstanding relationship.
Keynote addresses were made by the Hon. Sue Hickey MP, Speaker of the House of Assembly and Hon. Craig Farrell, MLC President of the Legislative Council on behalf of UTAS before presenting the awards to the graduates.

Also present to witness this auspicious occasion was Prime Minister Susuga Hon. Tuilaepa Dr. Sailele Malielegaoi, Speaker of the House Hon. Leaupepe Taimaaiono Toleafoa Faafisi, Her Excellency Sara Moriarty Australian High Commissioner to Samoa, Members of Parliament, family and friends.

A special mention must be recorded for Professor Richard Herr OAM PhD and his team from the UTAS for their tireless efforts in facilitating, coordinating and teaching the PLPP course.
• Post Graduate Dux of the Class – Phaedra Lameko
• Honourable Mention – Olive Eneliko
• Undergraduate Dux – Marcus Ofoia
• Honourable Mention – Georgina Samasoni